The Witcher 3 Mini-Review

witcher 3

I don’t have time to write much of a review, but I finally got around to playing and finishing The Witcher 3. I felt inspired enough to write a short blurb on how I felt about the game.

It’s funny. I played Witcher 1 on my PC and wasn’t super impressed. It wasn’t a bad game, but I wasn’t hooked. I’m not a big fan of PC games anyway. I liked it enough that I would have played Witcher 2 if I had a 360, but I didn’t. And I didn’t want to play it on the PC. So, I was pretty much done with The Witcher. Fast forward to 2016. I have an Xbox One and thanks to Microsoft and their awesome backwards compatibility function, I suddenly got to continue on The Path, as they call it. Better yet, they put Witcher 2 up for free. Not bad. Not bad at all. Unlike with the first game, I was immediately hooked, and bought Witcher 3 before I even finished 2. I wouldn’t say Assassin of Kings was the best game ever, but it was a lot of fun and had an interesting story. Then I got to Witcher 3 and it was the final straw. In a good way. Wild Hunt is one of the best games I’ve ever played. I did pretty much everything possible in that game. (Except all those dives for smuggler caches in Skellige.) It took me weeks, but it was worth it. I don’t know if a game has ever made side quests so unique and interesting. You don’t feel like you’re doing the same junk over and over again in the sidequests, like a lot of games are known for. And the main quests were just as good, obviously! The characters were all interesting. So much depth there. I made my Geralt be as good as possible, like I usually do, and romanced Yennefer. If it were me, I’d probably pick Triss, but this was Geralt’s romance, not mine. Graphics were great. Gameplay was fun. World was HUGE. Monsters were hard. DLC has been packed so far and the biggest and best is yet to come.

The best thing I can say about The Witcher 3 is that immediately after finishing it, I found myself wanting to play it all over again. I’m not going to right now, but I’m sure I will someday. There’s only a few games that make me feel that way (Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Zelda, The Last of Us) and Wild Hunt is one of them. Bravo, Cd Projekt Red. Bravo.

3 thoughts on “The Witcher 3 Mini-Review

  1. Nice! Yeah, I think I said this before at some point, but with the Witcher, each games improves on the last. It’s pretty rare in video games, but CD Projekt actually built on what each game did well and fixed other things, so the series just gets better and better. It’s pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

