Listmas: Star Wars Rankings

My second list for this Listmas is ranking all of my favorite Star Wars things in the universe. So, really, this is several lists within a list! You could call it Listception!

TELEVISION

Clone Wars

1. Star Wars: The Clone Wars

This is an easy one. I didn’t watch The Clone Wars until the whole series was finished and on Netflix. I thought it was just a kid’s show. A silly cartoon. I couldn’t be any more wrong than that. Yes, it was an animated show. Yes, it was marketed towards children and teens. But, it’s not a “kiddy show”. It’s a show for Star Wars fans of all ages. I believe that I’ve made my case for The Clone Wars before, but it’s worth saying it again. I’m a huge fan, because it was done so well, and because of the depth that it added to the Star Wars canonical universe. And if any part of Star Wars needed depth, it was the prequel era. It also provided one of my favorite characters in Ahsoka Tano.

Rebels-logo-big

2. Star Wars: Rebels

Rebels is a good show, though I would say it’s probably more childish than The Clone Wars. It’s understandable. The Clone Wars was on Cartoon Network and Rebels is on a Disney Channel. I can get past that and enjoy it, but that’s why it’s #2 on my list. To be fair, it’s only halfway through it’s second season, and The Clone Wars is a complete series. And it is getting better and better. This season they have brought in Darth Vader, Captain Rex, and Ahsoka Tano. Oh, and Hondo. It makes things much more interesting. My favorite Rebels exclusive character is Hera Syndulla, the Twi’lek pilot. It’s nice that they’re balancing the Star Wars universe out. All of my favorite characters growing up were men and the new ones are pretty much all women!

BOOKS AND COMICS

sote

1. Star Wars: Shadow of the Empire (Novel and Graphic Novel)

Shadows of the Empire tops my list in the books and comics list. It was an interquel that Lucasfilm put out there in the 90s. It was everywhere, as most of you probably know. I read both the novel and graphic novel and played the game. They each brought a new perspective to the story, which was really cool. Moreover, it was just a great story. How did the Rebellion get the plans to the new Death Star? How did Luke become a Jedi Master all of a sudden? Those questions were answered and more. The more involved two big new characters. Dash Rendar was the main new character. He was sort of a placeholder for Han, but he was cool enough that no one cared. The bad guy was Prince Xizor of Black Sun Corporation. It was a nice change of pace. Anyway, it was a favorite of mine growing up, and I hope they make a new version of the same story for the new canon.

kotor comic

2. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (Comic Book Series)

Knights of the Old Republic took place during the Old Republic times and starred a disgraced (and wrongly accused) Jedi Padawan and his ragtag group of adventurers. It’s my favorite Star Wars comic book series.

kanan

3. Star Wars: Kanan (Comic Book Series)

My favorite new comic series stars Kanan Jarrus from Rebels. It tells about his days before and after Order 66. Very well done and interesting, new stuff. It helps give Rebels some good backstory. I’m also reading A New Dawn right now. It takes place inbetween this comic and the TV show and stars Hera and Kanan. It’s how they met. I like it so far, but I can’t rank what I haven’t finished!

jedi apprentice

4. Star Wars: Jedi Apprentice Series (Book Series)

An old favorite is the Jedi Apprentice series. I grew up on these. They were YA books exploring Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi’s adventures and Master and Padawan. I was and am a big Obi-Wan fan and I loved reading about that period of his life, especially since I was just a little younger than he was supposed to be in the beginning. They’re not canon anymore, but they were still fun back in the day.

star wars comic

5. Star Wars (Comic Book Series)

There’s not a lot of separation in the other new Marvel series. The flagship one takes place in-between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. It’s solid and I enjoy it month to month.

leia

 

5. Star Wars: Princess Leia (Comic Book Mini-Series)

The other Marvel comic mini-series have been pretty blah, but Princess Leia got a really interesting one. It even sheds some light on why she doesn’t go by Princess in the new movie. I recommend it!

darth vader

5. Star Wars: Darth Vader (Comic Book Series)

Another solid series taking place during the same time as the main series. I enjoy it. I especially enjoy the evil counterparts of C-3PO and R2-D2.

aftermath

6. Star Wars: Aftermath (Novel)

Aftermath received some bad reviews, but I really liked it. It takes place in the new canon, in-between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens. Wedge is the only returning character to get meaningful page time, but that’s OK with me. I do think the new gang of characters will meet up with some classic characters in the next book in the series. At the very least, it sheds light on the status of the Star Wars universe during a time which we don’t know much about, even after watching the new movie.

 

GAMES

kotor

1. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Series

I’m a huge Bioware fan and it all started with Knights of the Old Republic. It’s still some of their best work. I love exploring that ancient time period of the Star Wars mythos and the way they tell it is in perfect Bioware fashion. You put together a team and form relationships with them and become a Jedi and kick ass. It’s the best. Well, the first one is. I feel like the second one would have been. It was clearly rushed and unfinished. Despite that, KOTOR is an easy #1 for me.

Shadows of the Empire

2. Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire

I’m going back to SOTE for #2. It’s a classic and will forever be one of my favorites. I’m personally hoping that it will be remade and put the SOTE story back into canon.

Star Wars The Old Republic

3. Star Wars: The Old Republic

The Old Republic is on e that has grown on me over the past 2 or 3 years. I started playing when it went Free to Play and have been playing it off and on since then. With each time that Bioware made fixes and additions to the game, I found myself enjoying it more and more. I’m playing it right now and finally getting to the DLC and really enjoying it!

rogue

4. Star Wars: Rogue Squadron Series

My brother and I loved these games growing up. I don’t think they’ve aged very well, but they were awesome games growing up. I would love to see a new version come out that takes place during The Force Awakens timeline.

jedi knight

4. Star Wars: Dark Forces/Jedi Knight Series

The Jedi Knight games were really fun. I never finished all of them, but I particularly enjoyed the first Jedi Knight game where Kyle Katarn becomes one. I might actually play these again someday soon and finish the ones I never did finish. I’m not gonna lie, though. I’ll probably play on easy or cheat. The older games really test my patience sometimes. Games like Donkey Kong Country drive me crazy. I’m in it for the story, y’all!

GalacticBattlegrounds

4. Star Wars: Galactic Battlegrounds

Galactic Battlegrounds was another one that my little brother and I enjoyed. It’s an old RTS game and was so addicting! It’s the type of game you’d probably see a crappy version of on a mobile now.

battlefront

5. Star Wars: Battlefront Series

I’m more in it for the storyline, so Battlefront as a series falls further down the list for me. They’ve always been fun and the new one is probably the best yet, in my opinion.

yoda

5. Star Wars: Yoda Stories

I’m not sure how to classify Yoda Stories. It was a fun, little game. I guess it’s basically what would have happened if Luke hadn’t quit his training or if he came right back and finished it? Anyway, it’s another classic.

jango

5. Star Wars: Bounty Hunter

Bounty Hunter starred Jango Fett and was a really good tie-in to Attack of the Clones.

alliance

6. Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance

I never played any of the other X-Wing games, but I did play and enjoy Alliance. It was a story about a family that owned a trading company during the Galactic Civil War. The Empire moves against your family and so you join the Rebel Alliance. It was a really fun space simulator game!

galaxies

7. Star Wars: Galaxies

Galaxies was the first Star Wars MMO. I’m mainly throwing them on the end here for nostalgia. My little brother and I loved this game for a little while. Then we got bored or annoyed by it. I don’t remember. It was a mess of a game, though. I do remember that much. But we did have some good times on it before that.

MOVIES

TESB

1.  Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

TESB is the classic film in the Star Wars series and I think most everyone places it at the top of their list. I’m not even sure if I could describe why it’s my favorite. It just is. It always has been, despite 4 new films entering the saga in my lifetime. It probably always will be, even if the new Disney team keeps making epic movies like the next movie on my list.

TFA

2. Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens

I attended the 7pm Thursday night showing of The Force Awakens at our local IMAX. I wasn’t disappointed. No, VII actually exceeded my expectations. I didn’t expect it to be crappy. I like everything JJ Abrams has done. I thought it would be better than the prequels and not as good as the originals. Instead, it’s right up there with them. Like all the reviews say, it’s the perfect blend of new and old. Funny, interesting, awesome, and sad. It’s just about perfect. I still place TESB at the top spot, but I finally settled on TFA being tied with ANH and ROTJ. I’m definitely going to see it a couple more times while it’s still in theatres.

P.S. I’m not going to write up a review, but if I did, I’d give it five out of five stars!

ROTJ

2. Star Wars: Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

The only reason I don’t have ROTJ tied with TESB is the ewoks. I don’t hate the ewoks, but to have them defeating stormtroopers? Give me a break. It would have made more sense if the Death Star II was orbiting Kashyyyk and the heroes could have freed the enslaved Wookiees to help them.

ANH

2. Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope

A New Hope is what started it all and will always be a great movie. Most of all, what I love about the original movies is how magical they are to watch. No matter how old you are, they give you a heartwarming and childlike feeling when you watch them. That’s what the prequels lacked and what The Force Awakens has brought back.

AOTC

5. Star Wars: Episode II: Attack of the Clones

AOTC is my favorite prequel movies. I don’t hate any of the prequel movies. I really do like them a lot, they’re just not special like the rest of the movies. Anyway, what I liked about Clones is how it showed the Jedi in their prime. Well, actually that’s not true. It showed Jedi in their classic role as peacekeepers, though. Like, lots of Jedi, being badasses in that battle of Geonosis. In every other movie, it’s pretty much just a couple of Jedi or just one even. I also liked seeing Jango Fett. The worst part of the movie was Jar-Jar being a Senator. Totally unnecessary! I know Palpatine needed an idiot to give him power, but they could have found a better way. All in all, I thought it was a cool movie, just not a great one.

ROTS

6. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

ROTS tied everything up and was good at times. I don’t really have anything particularly negative or positive to say about it. It’s just there.

TPM

7. Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace

TPM. A lot of people hate it. I don’t hate it and maybe that’s because I grew up with it. I first saw it in theatres when I was 10 years old. Maybe that has me biased with nostalgia goggles on. I’m not going to argue that it’s a great movie, but it’s a good one that I still enjoy even now. But it is definitely at the bottom of my list. And just like TESB will say at the top, TPM will stay at the bottom forever.

What are your favorite Star Wars things? How do you rank the movies from best to worst? Did you love the new movie as much as I did? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

