Listmas: Some Retractions

I’m not sure if retractions is the best word to fit what this post is about. This post, which is my first in a while, and my first in this year’s group of Listmas posts. It’s simply this. There have been a few times where I have reacted to quickly or strongly to something in one of my articles. Looking back, I don’t necessarily feel the same way. So, I just wanted to clear up a few things, because it bugs me having them sit there when my position has changed.

Sad Batman 2

1. Ben Affleck Cast as Batman

The first and perhaps biggest “retraction” is in regards to my blog post written immediately after Ben Affleck was cast as Batman. I was not a fan. I said a few things tongue-in-cheek, but I was mostly serious.

You can read the article here:

https://stephenwrhodes.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/news-ben-affleck-is-batman/

I stepped back from the ledge pretty quickly, before any footage came out, and decided to wait for said footage. And the movie, itself, obviously. It remains to be seen, whether or not Ben Affleck will work as Batman, but I like what I’ve seen from the trailers. He’s grown up as an actor in recent years and that’s what I failed to take into account. So, I don’t retract that I was disappointed in the casting of Ben Affleck, but I do take back the outrage and my threat to skip the movie. I’m seeing Batman vs. Superman for sure.

Assassins-Creed-Logo

2. Call of Duty and Assassin’s Creed

One of my more recent articles featured a few mini-reviews of games that I had knocked off my backlog list. It was thumbs up for Dragon Age: Inquisition and thumbs down for Assassin’s Creed: Unity and Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare.

You can read it here:

https://stephenwrhodes.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/dragon-age-call-of-duty-and-assassins-creed/

Basically, I said that I didn’t plan on wasting my time or money on future games in either series, because they seemed too stale. I didn’t even finish Unity. Well, since then I happened on a copy of Black Ops 3. It was good enough that I didn’t mind wasting my time on it, but I still don’t see myself purchasing the next ones. I had some extra spare time on my hands due to a minor surgery and I ended up going back to finish Unity and it gave me some perspective. I realized that I didn’t like it, but then I realized I didn’t like AC III either. That didn’t stop me from loving pretty much every other game in the series. Couple that with my recent trip to London and you end up with me giving them one more change with Syndicate. I haven’t played it yet, but I will soon.

battlefront

3. Star Wars: Battlefront

The final “retraction” is regarding Star Wars: Battlefront. In my last post I wrote about my impressions of the beta and the fact that there would be no campaign in the game. I was not and am still not a fan of that decision.

Here’s that article:

https://stephenwrhodes.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/star-wars-battlefront-beta-impressions/

What’s changed since then? Not much. I didn’t want to pay $60 for it and I didn’t. But I got a bad case of Star Wars fever when it released, so I traded in some old games and stuff that I would never use again. I’ve had a lot of fun playing it with myself and others and I’m glad that I did the trade-in. I still wouldn’t pay $60, but if you can find it for $40 I would recommend buying it. It’s a beautiful game, not perfect, but fun. I can’t wait to see the stuff that they add from The Force Awakens. You have to imagine it will be in the first DLC pack!

So, those are my retractions, and my first Listmas of the year. My next one might come out later today or later this weekend. It’s a Star Wars list. I also have a “best of 2015” post coming before the end of the year.

2 thoughts on “Listmas: Some Retractions

  1. I do the same thing sometimes. I get overly excited or upset, then later realize I was totally wrong or that maybe I shouldn’t have reacted so fast! Cool to hear your opinions on things later. 🙂

    Anyway, I’m curious to see Ben Affleck as Batman. To be honest, I am not a fan of Henry Cavill so that’s my biggest hindrance, to me he’s just the coldest and most boring Superman imaginable. (He’s been a good actor in other things, imo, just not my favorite!) I also tried Star Wars but just couldn’t get into, because of the lack of campaign, like you said. Glad you’re enjoying it anyway! I also bought it for a lower price, but for me, it still wasn’t worth it.

  2. Yes, I definitely can get overly excited too. I’m afraid some of my reviews might have been a bit too positive at times, but I don’t mind keeping them that way. I’d rather be too positive than too negative.

    That’s an interesting take. I think I’ve heard that you’re not alone with that. I think it’s probably a hard role to get right. Batman is my main fandom in DC, but I’m interested to see where they go with their new movie universe.

    Are you a big Star Wars fan? If I wasn’t, I can’t imagine having too much fun with it.

Leave a Reply

