Dragon Age, Call of Duty, and Assassin’s Creed

I’m finally caught up on my 2014 games. I played Dragon Age: Inquisition, Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, and about 1/3 of Assassin’s Creed: Unity this past month. I’m not going to write a full review for any of them. Just a few quick thoughts on each.

Dragon Age: Inquisition

Dragon Age III Logo

I kept hearing how Inquisition won a bunch of Game of the Year awards last year and I found out that they were well deserved. It gets my Game of the Year award too. (However, I’m not doing a 2014 awards post in the middle of 2015.) Dragon Age has always had a great story, setting, and characters. In Thedas, Bioware has built a unique, high fantasy world that I can and do get lost in. However, DA struggled somewhat with the gameplay aspects in it’s first two games. Especially in DA II. They perfected their formula with Inquisition, by fixing the gameplay side of things. I really did get lost in Thedas and can’t wait for the rest of the DLC to finish my Inquisitor’s story. Bravo, Bioware. Y’all are my favorites forever.

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare

Call of Duty Advanced Warfare Logo

Advanced Warfare might be a decent game, but it’s not a new game. No, it’s the same old Call of Duty, and I’m tired of it. I’ve considered giving up on the series for a while now, but this is officially my breakup with them. Like I said, the game itself isn’t so awful, but you can only play the same thing so many times, before you don’t want to anymore. I’m not going to waste my time or money anymore.

Assassin’s Creed: Unity

ACU_Logo_Typo_RGB_E3_140609_4pmPST_1402219073

Unfortunately, my feelings for Unity, echo those of Advanced Warfare. I’m breaking up with Assassin’s Creed. It’s over. Unity looks great, but the substance just isn’t there. Maybe the substance was lacking somewhat in Black Flag and Rogue, but they made up for it with the awesome Naval aspect of those games. I didn’t like AC III either. Trying to get through Unity feels like a chore and that’s the problem right there. The characters are bland and the gameplay is a chore. It’s just not fun anymore and a good looking setting doesn’t make up for it. Once again, I don’t like wasting my time or money, and that’s what I feel like I did here. We did have some good times together, though. The Ezio Trilogy and Black Flag were really fun and interesting games, that I may play over again someday.

What a contrast. One game is an instant all-time favorite, while the other two helped me to decide to quit playing their respective franchises for good. To be fair, if you’ve never played either series before, then they might be good for you, because they’d be fresh to you. For me, they’re stale as can be.

6 thoughts on “Dragon Age, Call of Duty, and Assassin’s Creed

  1. Yeah, I really enjoy the Assassin’s Creed games but I am always a little suspicious of series that come out with new games like every year. It’s just too much, and they can get pretty stale. Not to say that the Assassin’s Creed formula isn’t a good one… However I really liked Black Flag, especially for the naval aspect like you said. =) Haven’t played Unity though.

    Inquisition is really beautiful. It’s not my favorite in the series actually, but BioWare did an amazing job of bringing the series to new game consoles.

    • It is too much. I agree, though. It was a good formula. Like I said, I probably would have enjoyed Unity if I hadn’t played all of the previous games before it. As much as I enjoy having new games, I’m glad that other studios take their time on their games. Space them out.

      I’m surprised about that. I guess you liked Origins the most? They’re all good, but I though this was the most complete package.

  2. As a very huge Dragon Fan I don’t think there was a problem with the gameplay in any Dragon Age game. Inquisition is a fantastic game, but I’m not sure if it’s my favorite in the series. I actually think Origins had better gameplay because it was more strategic and a harder game.

    • It’s funny. You’re not the only one who thinks so. I guess Origins is really that much of a classic. Don’t get me wrong. I really enjoy Origins, but personally, there’s just something about Inquisition that I love even more. I might even play it again sometime soon, rather than play some of the games in my backlog. Either way, I’m looking forward to the new DLC coming out tomorrow!

      • Keep in mind Origins has a ton of DLC, and a pretty great expansion that makes the castle building in Inquisition look dull in comparison. Once Inquisition is finished and it has all of it’s dlc’s and expansions I’ll make my final judgement on which game I like the most.

        Origins, to me, was an incredible experience and had some of the best characters in the series.

  3. Pingback: Listmas: Some Retractions | The Rhodes Review

Leave a Reply

