January Recommendations

It’s been several months since I’ve had a recommendation post or even a review it all. As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been away at basic training, and I’m headed back soon. But during my break, I’ve played a couple of games, watched some movies and television, and read some comics. I’m not going to take the time to write out full reviews for any of these things, but I did want to do a quick recommendation post to share my thoughts on them.

GAMES

GAME OF THRONES

GoT E1 Logo

Telltale Games makes amazing games. It is known. I had high hopes when I heard that they’d be taking on Game of Thrones, but seven hells, the first episode was even better than I had hoped. You get to play as three different characters from House Forrester of Northern Westeros. I don’t think I’ve ever played a Telltale game that let you play as more than one character, but they pulled it off in this game. Moreover, Game of Thrones has so many characters and locations, that I found multiple playable characters to be a perfect fit for the series. If you read the books, it makes even more sense. The books take multiple characters POV and switch between them in each chapter. The first book (Game of Thrones) had eight character POVs (Stark’s, Tyrion, Dany). This first episode begins near the end of the 3rd season of the TV show and, I think, halfway through A Storm of Swords. There are multiple cameos from characters from the TV show and are voiced by their respective actors. I found that to be a nice touch. Another thing I’m excited about is that Season 1 is going to have six episodes! That’s awesome. The whole thing is awesome so far and I suspect it will be through the whole season. The bottom line is that this is genuine Game of Thrones content and I highly recommend it.

Assassin’s Creed: Rogue

ACRO_packshot_EMEA_PEGI18_PS3

I wasn’t sure that I wanted to play Assassin’s Creed: Rogue at first, but I’m glad that I did. The gameplay is almost identical to Black Flag. There are differences, but the basic structure of the game is exactly the same. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. The story is very different and features an Assassin who becomes a Templar and it takes place in-between Black Flag and III. There are cameos from those two games and from Liberation. I haven’t played Unity yet, but I believe this game is meant to wrap up the “Americas” storyline. I enjoyed it. I’m not going to sit here and type up all sorts of praise for the game, but if you’re a fan of the Assassin’s Creed series, I believe you’ll also enjoy it. My biggest complaint is that it’s not quite as polished as Black Flag. There are some bugs that I encountered in my PS3 version of the game. Nothing game-breaking, but a little annoying, all the same. I’ve heard that has been a problem with Unity, as well. Rushing games out a little too quickly, Ubisoft? One asterisk to my recommendation of Rogue. I recommend it, but I wouldn’t pay full price for it. I got it for $40 on Amazon and I found that to be a fair price.

MOVIES

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

hobbit

 

Apparently, there are some people who don’t like how Peter Jackson has adapted The Hobbit from book to trilogy. They haven’t been received too well by critics either. Well, I say let the money speak for itself. The trilogy has made over 2.5 billion dollars worldwide at the box office and counting. Apparently a lot of people DO like the movies and I’m one of them. Just like with the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I prefer to not compare them to the books. I love both the books and the movies. The movies aren’t perfect adaptations and will never measure up if you hold them to those standards. That’s how it almost always is with adaptations. So, yes, I love all of the LOTR and Hobbit movies, including The Battle of the Five Armies. It’s an epic conclusion to a trilogy that has had me emotionally involved and always captivated. The action is on a grand scale. Even grander than usual. I personally enjoyed the big battle in this one more than the battle for Gondor in Return of the King. I think it’s because it was Elves and Men and Dwarves vs. Orcs, instead of just Men vs. Orcs. Each of the races have their own style of fighting and seeing each of them fighting off the bad guys was really fun. I highly recommend watching The Battle of the Five Armies and all of The Hobbit movies. They’re especially awesome in IMAX 3D! I can’t wait for the Extended Edition!

TV

Star Wars: Rebels

Rebels-logo-big

If you’re a Star Wars fan, and you’re not watching Rebels, you’re wrong. Don’t be fooled. It may be an animated TV show, but that doesn’t mean it’s just for kids. Just like The Clone Wars, Rebels is a show that Star Wars fans of all ages can enjoy. The characters are fun and have depth to them. Depth is an important thing to me with characters and especially TV show characters. If you have time to develop a character, then the character better have some development. Even in the first half of the season, there already has been some development, and that is a sign of good writing. It’s also adding to the overall canon (it is official canon) of Star Wars and I like that too. This is a simple recommendation. If you’re a Star Wars fan, then you need to watch Star Wars: Rebels.

COMICS

Thor

thor

I’m a huge fan of the Marvel movie/TV universe, but I’ve never read a single one of their comic books. I hadn’t planned to either. I would want to read them all and I just don’t have time or money for that. However, when Marvel decided to make a female Thor, I decided I had to at least read the first issue. Thor is probably my favorite character and I’ve always loved the Asgradian stories. This seemed like an interesting entry point for a new reader like myself. Thor’s hammer and title passing to a female character was probably the biggest story in comics last year or at least one of the top stories and it had me intrigued. After reading the first issue, I was even more intrigued. Who is the female character that has become the new Thor? It’s a mystery and it has me sucked in. So, I subscribed to the new Thor series on Comixology and I’ll continue reading it for however long it goes on. I’m only sticking to Thor, though. I don’t have room for anymore Marvel comics in my subscription list. Anyway, this new series of Thor is three issues in, and I’m really enjoying it. If you’re a fan of Marvel and/or Thor, I highly recommend it.

P.S. I can’t help but think of Lagertha when I see the new Thor. Is that just me?

One thought on “January Recommendations

  1. How can you recommend an unfinished game? Game of Thrones looks like it’s okay, but it’s nowhere near done. I would recommend everyone to wait until the whole season is finished before buying it.

    It seems like we’re complete opposites in gaming :].

Leave a Reply

