E3 2014: Best of Show Awards

E3

Well, for all intents and purposes, E3 2014 is over. If for some reason some other news breaks from the show, I’ll have it in my weekly news post tomorrow. While I won’t have a recap for the last day of E3, I do have my Best of Show awards to give out!

Best of Show Awards

I wasn’t at E3, so my “Best of Show” Awards are only from the impressions that I can get from watching press conferences and videos online.

Best Press Conference: Microsoft

I didn’t even watch the Microsoft Press Conference, but I saw the sort of buzz that they got during and afterwards on places like Twitter. Besides that, they also did a good job at putting exciting 3rd party games into their conference. I had to look up trailers afterwards and I don’t think I had to do that last year. I skipped most of their press conference last year too. Sony didn’t do terribly, but could have been better. EA Games should have shown more gameplay. More Mass Effect and Star Wars would have been nice. Ubisoft was pretty good. Nintendo was pretty good too.

Best PS4 Exclusive Game: Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

Nathan Drake is back for (likely) his last adventure! He might be missing a lot of good devs, but I’m still excited for the game. The teaser trailer did the job for me and I hope they end the series with a bang!

Best PS Vita Game:

This was pretty disappointing. I was hoping for at least one announcement of an awesome PS Vita game at E3 and I didn’t see a single one that interested me. Maybe I’m a little picky, but there’s just not a lot to choose from. There are quite a few multiplatform games, but I’d prefer to play a game on a console, if they give me a choice like that. I just want some good handheld only games like Nintendo has. Or a game like Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune. That was a really great Vita game. Honestly, I’m really starting to regret trading in my 3DS for a PS Vita. I probably should have traded in for a 3DS XL instead.

Best Game Announcement: Rise of the Tomb Raider

As I mentioned earlier this week, Tomb Raider was one of my favorite games last year, and the Definitive Edition was one my favorites this year, so obviously I was stoked to see the reveal of the sequel at E3. I knew they were working on it, but I had no idea the announcement was coming on Monday. Very cool surprise.

Runner-Up Best Game Announcement: Zelda Wii U

Zelda Wii U is another game that we knew they were working on, but that’s about all we knew. Nintendo finally revealed the game on Tuesday and it looks and sounds awesome. It’s HD, open world, and could star Zelda. As long as they have voice acting, they have won me over!

Best Indie Game: No Man’s Sky

There were tons of Indie games at E3, but only one caught my eye. More about No Man’s Sky below.

Best 3rd Party Game: Dragon Age: Inquisition

Easy pick for this one. More about Inquisition below.

Runner-Up Best 3rd Party Game: Batman: Arkham Knight

Arkham Knight is looking as awesome as expected. I can’t wait to give the batmobile a spin around Gotham. But I have to wait. But it will be worth the extra wait!

Best DLC: RESOGUN: Heroes

The Heroes DLC for RESOGUN looks cool, but they kind of won by default. There wasn’t much DLC at E3 and this is the only DLC that interested me.

Best Trailer: No Man’s Sky

No Man’s Sky had the best trailer. Hands down.

Runner-Up Best Trailer (Runner-Up): Tom Clancy’s The Division

I still don’t think that I’ll play The Division, but Ubisoft put together one hell of a trailer for the game. I think it’ll be an awesome game, just not one that I want to play.

Biggest Surprise: No Man’s Sky

Who could have guessed that an indie game would be the game that would leave me the most hyped after E3? Not me.

Runner-Up Biggest Surprise: Hyrule Warriors

Before the E3 footage, I wasn’t really expecting much from Hyrule Warriors. Afterwards? I’m really looking forward to playing it.

Best Dev Video: Bioware on Mass Effect 4

I kind of made up a category to be able to give an award to Mass Effect. They didn’t even show much of Mass Effect 4 at all in the dev video, but I still couldn’t help but give them this award. I’m such a Mass Effect fan boy.

BEST OVERALL GAME: NO MAN’S SKY

I was interested in No Man’s Sky when it was revealed last year, but this year I was just blown away by the footage I saw. It made me want to stop what I was doing and play the game now. NOW. No other game did that for me. The worlds look so alien, truly alien, and the fact that no world in the game is the same? Oh my giddy aunt. I cannot wait to explore the galaxy in this game…

Runner-Up Best Overall Game: Dragon Age: Inquisition

Inquisition was a close second for me. It didn’t have the wow factor for me like No Man’s Sky did, but I’m a Bioware groupie. I’ve been following this game since the announcement. I’ve been expecting greatness and so to see greatness from it doesn’t surprise me. Maybe that’s not fair to Inquisition, but that’s what separated these two games for me. I also suppose that I am still a little miffed about that whole Microsoft deal that they made and announced on Monday. Still, the game does look beyond amazing and I am literally counting down the days (116) until my pre-order arrives.

So, who do y’all think won E3? What game are y’all most excited about?

Check out all of my E3 coverage: http://stephenwrhodes.com/?s=e3

4 thoughts on “E3 2014: Best of Show Awards

    • I know! I’ll miss the Catwoman gameplay from City, but the batmobile gameplay will help fill that hole. I wonder if the Tomb Raider comic will lead into the sequel? So far it’s been dealing mainly with stuff from the last game. I missed Ori. Is that an indie game?

      • Yeah, I’ll miss Catwoman as well but I’m sure she will make a little appearance at some point 😀 If I remember correctly, the Tomb Raider comic is supposed to lead into the sequel, not 100%sure though. I need to catch up on that now that you mention it. And yeah, Ori was a new indie IP that was shown during the MS press conference. It looks very charming.

      • Ah, that explains it. I didn’t watch their press conference. I just looked it up and it does look cool. I don’t have XBO and don’t plan to, but I might check it out on PC!

Leave a Reply

