News: 03/22/14-03/28/14

Another week of news here on The Rhodes Review! Here are all of the stories and videos that caught my eye this week:

Assassin’s Creed: Comet

Batman: Arkham Knight

Alien: Isolation

Watch_Dogs

Wolfenstein: The New Order

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

Dragon Age III: Inquisition

Project Morpheus

PlayStation Plus

Vikings

X-Men: Days of Future Past

News/Videos

Assassin’s Creed: Comet

Assassins-Creed-Logo

I hesitate to share this news because it hasn’t been confirmed by Ubisoft, but Kotaku seems to have accurate sources within their ranks, so I’ll share it anyway. Last week, Kotaku leaked the news of Assassin’s Creed: Unity (PS4, XB1, PC), and Ubisoft confirmed the game a couple days later. This week Kotaku has leaked news of the other Assassin’s Creed game for the year: Comet. This game will be at least on the PS3 and the 360 and the player character will be a Templar. It looks to be heavily associated with Assassin’s Creed IIIIV, and Freedom Cry. It will feature naval combat and characters from those games like Haytham Kenway and Adewale.

For the full leak and story, check out Kotaku’s article: http://kotaku.com/sources-assassins-creed-comet-will-let-you-play-as-a-1552929846

I can’t say that I’m very excited by just the few details we have heard from the leak. When it comes to huge games like Assassin’s Creed, you’ve got to keep things fresh, or else it’s hard to keep interested. It’s not even official, so it’s hard for me to say this, but right now I don’t see myself investing my time into this game. I’ll keep an open mind for now, though!

Batman: Arkham Knight

531514764d69a

I’ve got some new screenshots and a video to share with y’all regarding Rocksteady’s upcoming game, Batman: Arkham Knight.

First, the video. PlayStation interviewed Rocksteady’s Dax Ginn about the game at GDC 2014:

There was some good info revealed there. One thing that jumped out to me was that the Arkham Knight is NOT Batman. I didn’t realize that before. Apparently, he’s a brand new character created for this game. You can see him in the cool futuristic suit in the screenshots below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Alien: Isolation

AI_LOGO_RGB_TM_BLACK_1389089703

PlayStation shared a new behind the scenes video for Alien: Isolation this week. Check it out:

I’m REALLY looking forward to this game!

Watch_Dogs

WD_PS4_2D_GC_130821_10amCET_UK_1377072725

PlayStation also shared a new Watch_Dogs video this week. This video is all about the game world of Chicago!

This video definitely speaks more to me than the recent story trailers released. I forgot how big the world is going to be in this game. How each person on the street in the game has a name and a story. It’s pretty crazy to think about and I’m looking forward to seeing how crazy it is to actually see and play it.

Wolfenstein: The New Order

WOLF_PS4_packshot_PEGI_EN_1392804743

One of the more interesting stories to note this week was Bethesda’s announcement of the Wolfenstein®: The New Order™ Panzerhund Edition.

Wolfenstein The New Order Panzerhund Edition

Press Release:

“We’re pleased to announce the Wolfenstein®: The New Order™ Panzerhund Editiona collection of premium items from the Wolfenstein universe, will be available on May 20 for $100.00 through our online merchandise store. Fans can pre-order this exclusive collection now at: store.bethsoft.com.

This Panzerhund Edition, limited to 5,000 units worldwide, comes packaged in a vintage footlocker-style box, each with an individually stamped number plate (approximately 20″ x 10.5″ x 8.5″), that includes the following items:

  •          An 8 inch fully articulated hand-painted Panzerhund statue and base
  •          Classified folder containing salvaged secret war documents including maps, case files, letters, blueprints and an x-ray
  •          A set of 14 full-color ‘vintage’ postcards from Wolfenstein’s alternate 1960’s, bound in a display book
  •          Three embroidered patches
  •          Custom replica dog tags
  •          An exclusive Steelbook case to house your copy of the game **Actual game sold separately.

For more information on the Collector’s Edition visit: store.bethsoft.com.”

I don’t typically go for these sort of collector’s editions, but it seems like the Panzerhund Edition has some cool stuff included. The interesting thing about this edition is that it doesn’t include the game itself. It’s odd, but I don’t necessarily see it being an issue. It’s definitely odd, though.

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

fifa14wcps3pftfront

EA Sports has released a video this week with a focus on stadium atmosphere in 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil:

I may be reviewing this game next month!

Dragon Age III: Inquisition

Dragon Age III Logo

I have a few little, random news stories to share this week for Dragon Age III: Inquisition.

The first is that VG 24/7 (and others) is reporting that the voice actor who played Alistair in the previous Dragon Age games, Steve Valentine, was back in the Bioware recording studio. One would assume that he will be in Inquisition, but that much wasn’t confirmed. Their source was tweets from both Valentine and Bioware. I, for one, would definitely like to see Alistair return in Inquisition.

The next news comes from the Bioware Blog. Apparently, this is Vivienne month, because there have been three posts about her this week on their blog.

The first post:

Vivienne_004

“Referred to as Madame de Fer, “the Lady of Iron”, Vivienne lives up to her title. A leader among the mages and official enchanter to the Imperial court, she is renowned as a fearsome woman who achieved her position through guile and deft political maneuvering. Vivienne allows nothing to stand in the way of what she desires—not those who claim she is a social climber, not those who seek to restrict her power, not even her fellow mages who would conscript her into a rebellion with which she disagrees. Vivienne fights to restore order in a world gone mad…so long as that leaves her among those left standing, once all is said and done.”

The second post:

Vivienne_Blog01

“To bring a Dragon Age: Inquisition character to life requires hard work and iteration from a team of experts. After several initial stages of visualization, the character is refined through a collaborative process until the details are just right.

With our continued spotlight on Vivienne this month, we checked in with the team behind her creation.

“Vivienne was a truly great character to build,” says senior artist Rion Swanson. “I was hooked from the very beginning when I saw the first concept.”

Swanson credits the work of BioWare’s concept artists as a key component to locking down Vivienne’s final design. In particular, he recalls a lot of back-and-forth to ensure that her character met the high-quality standards of the studio.

“In the end, I think we achieved quite a dramatic look for this strong new character,” Swanson says. “The combination of sleek and powerful shapes with the ornate gold and fine fabrics gives Vivienne a pretty unique appearance.”

With Vivienne’s work complete, what does Swanson think about setting her loose on the world of Thedas?

“Watching her move through the world with flowing fabric and using her awesome mage abilities is a real nice counterbalance to some of the other heavily armored characters in your party. Enjoy!””

And, the third post:

Vivienne_blog03

“A word about Vivienne from writer Mary Kirby:

“Vivienne was fun to write because she let me play around with different ways for a character to be powerful. Any mage can destroy their enemies with fire and ice, but Vivienne can rip her opponents apart verbally, politically, socially—and make ice seem like the gentlest option. She takes great pride in her work, and her interactions with a certain unnamed Inquisition mage can be a little… explosive. In a good way. Mostly.”

My dear Ambassador,

I don’t believe we’ve met, so allow me to introduce myself. I am First Enchanter Vivienne, Enchanter to the Imperial Court of Orlais, personal advisor to the Empress.

A rumor has reached my ears that you plan on attending the salon held at the duke’s summer estate three weeks hence. I’m certain this rumor must be a scandalous falsehood, Ambassador, as neither you nor anyone else from the Nevarran embassy has been issued an invitation. As host of the party, I trust you did not intend to crash it like some unwashed workman drunk on three tankards of ale and a dare.

I know you are only seventy-third in line for the Nevarran throne, but that is hardly so lowly a position as to relegate you to trailing after Comtesse Montbelliard in the hope that she might give your suit a moment’s thought. She won’t, my dear. She only likes men with self-respect. Perhaps you might sober up and acquire some?

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you, Ambassador, that the world has become a dangerous place. Wars rage across the continent, the sky is torn open, and many say the end of the world is upon us. During such chaotic times, it behooves those of us in power to aid in the restoration of peace and the establishment of order. Lives have already been lost; should we not save those we can? In that spirit, I give you this friendly warning: I am not to be trifled with. I would not be in a rush to hasten my own demise if I were you, darling. If the demons have their way, it will come soon enough.

Most sincerely,

Madame de Fer”

She certainly seems like an interesting character! The final Inquisition item I have for y’all this week is a behind the scenes video with Brian Bloom and Claudia Black, who voice Varric and Morrigan:

Can it be Fall already?

Project Morpheus

13254503705_8e867e1ae0_z

Sony announced Project Morpheus, their prototype Virtual Reality set, at GDC last week. This week they have a couple videos for us to get to know Morpheus better.

The first video is the actual hour-long presentation that they made at GDC:

I haven’t had time to watch it yet, but I’m definitely keeping it bookmarked to watch later. I did watch the other video, though. The other video is a hands-on look at Morpheus:

The hands-on look is cool, but I think it’s probably more of something that you have to try hands-on yourself. I can’t wait to try Morpheus out someday, but I still find myself wondering if it will be affordable. I guess time will tell.

PlayStation Plus

PS-Plus

Sony has announced the free PlayStation Plus games for April on the PlayStation Blog.

Video Announcement:

The list: Mercenary Kings (PS4), Batman: Arkham City (PS3), Stealth Inc. A Clone in the Dark (PS3), Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse (PS3), Velocity Ultra (PS Vita), and Pixeljunk Monsters Ultimate HD (PS Vita).

I can’t say that any of those interest me at all, except Arkham City, but I’ve owned that one for a long time now. If you somehow haven’t played it yet, then you should definitely check it out now.

Vikings

tumblr_mzmvi0optv1s7xoeto2_500

Earlier this month, in my March Recommendations, I suggested that you all watch Vikings on History Channel. This week, Deadline reports that History Channel has renewed Vikings for a third season. This is good news, indeed! Team Lagertha!

X-Men: Days of Future Past

movies-xmen-days-of-future-past-posters

There’s a new trailer out for X-Men: Days of Future Past. If you haven’t watched it already, watch it now:

This movie is going to be so epic. Can’t wait.

What did you all think of my stories for this week? Did I miss any big news that interested you all this week?

Upcoming Reviews in March

Comic Reviews: The Walking Dead #124, Mass Effect: Foundation #9, Serenity: Leaves on the Wind #3, and Tomb Raider #2.

Upcoming Reviews in April

Comic Reviews: The Walking Dead #125The Walking Dead #126Tales of Honor #2The Star Wars #7Mass Effect: Foundation #10Serenity: Leaves on the Wind #4, and Tomb Raider #3.

Game Reviews: The Wolf Among Us: Episode Three, 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil (maybe), Batman Arkham Origins: Cold, Cold Heart (maybe), and possibly others? (There haven’t been a lot of new games that have interested me lately. Things will pick up in May.)

March Poll

This month’s poll is inspired by my recent playthrough of Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition. I want to know who you guys think is the best adventurer/archeologist? My vote is for Indiana Jones, but I’m a huge fan of Drake and Croft too. There are only a few more days to get your vote in! I mean, technically I won’t ever take the poll down from these individual newsposts, but it will be taken down from the monthly poll spot.

Leave a Reply

