My Favorite Doctor Who (2005) Episodes

Doctor-Who-logo

I started watching Doctor Who (2005) early last November and I was addicted to the show a few episodes into Series 1. I watched a ton of Doctor Who during the winter break between semesters. I’ve even been watching during workouts. (As a side note, Netflix+Treadmill is an awesome combo!) I had another big binge this past week while I was under the weather. This all leads me up to tonight when I watched The Day of the Doctor and the Time of the Doctor. I’m actually caught up on all of the recent episodes. I can barely believe it. It’s been an awesome trip through time and space these past few months! Halfway through I realized that while I loved all of them, some episodes stood out more than others. I then decided to make a list of my favorite episodes. So, in chronological order, these are my favorite episodes of Doctor Who (2005)!

My All-Time Favorites

The Girl in the Fireplace

Madame_doctor4

The Girl in the Fireplace was remarkable in every facet, but it was the Tenth Doctor and Madame de Pompadour that made this episode so special. Their love was short and ill-fated, but I was still captivated.

Blink

Blink_(Doctor_Who)

Blink was awesome. Sally Sparrow vs. the Weeping Angels. I couldn’t look away. Literally. I wish there would have been more from Sally Sparrow, but at least we got more from the Weeping Angels! It’s funny, though. Blink is one of my favorite episodes of Doctor Who and it didn’t even have much of The Doctor actually in it. Though his time in the episode was limited, The Doctor did have one of the most memorable moments with his, “Don’t Blink” speech.

Oh, and there was also this other line, which was awesome for totally different reasons:

Timey-wimey!

The Waters of Mars

womspacesuit

What happens when The Doctor is thrust into a bad situation and he doesn’t have a companion to keep him in check? Not great things, that’s for sure. The Waters of Mars displays The Doctor at his very best and very worst. It was incredibly well done. I wish this episode would have been extended and released in theaters. Of course, I would have missed it in theaters (since I’m new to the show), but this episode would still make for an awesome movie. But the bottom line for this one is David Tennant at his best. Amazing performance.

Vincent and the Doctor

Vincent,_Amy_and_the_Doctor

If this episode doesn’t get you misty-eyed, I don’t what will. I get a little misty-eyed just thinking about it. Enough said.

A Christmas Carol

Doctor_Who_Christmas_Carol

I was afraid this would be just another take on A Christmas Carol, but that was foolish of me. This really was a fresh take on the classic Dickens story with a Doctor Who twist. It was awesome. And you know what made even more awesome? Dumbledore as Scrooge (Karzan Sardick).

The Rings of Akhaten

rings-akhaten-bbca-promo-8

Some episodes just have IT. The Rings of Akhaten is one of those episodes. The whole episode captures that perfect tone of wonderment of the unknown in space. Aliens felt alien again. The asteroid city of Tiaanamat and it’s people came alive in this episode. Besides the awesome setting, the story involving the Festival of Offerings and the Queen of Years was a really interesting one. A little bit heartbreaking and a lot heartwarming. Matt Smith, in particular, had one of his best performances, I think. Put it all together and you have one remarkable science fiction story, in my opinion.

The Day of the Doctor 

50th-poster-fan-edit

 

EPIC. No other word will suffice for the 50th Anniversary Special of Doctor Who. The Tenth Doctor and the War Doctor join up with the Eleventh Doctor for timey-wimey adventures. Rose Tyler even shows up. Not only are the action and storytelling and characters epic, but the history revealed was epic. I guess that counts in the storytelling, but I’m talking about how the special adds to the legend, the mythos, and/or the lore of Doctor Who. When I say the storytelling itself is epic, I mean the actual plot of the special. Basically, The Day of the Doctor is as awesome as Doctor Who gets.

Honourable Mentions

  • Father’s Day (Poor Rose Tyler…)
  • The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances (“Are you my Mummy?”)
  • The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit (This episode was CRAZY.)
  • The Shakespeare Code (“Exspelliarmus!”)
  • Voyage of the Damned (Titanic in Space!)
  • Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead (“Hey, who turned out the lights?”)
  • The Stolen Earth/Journey’s End (So many companions!)
  • The End of Time ( 😦 “…I don’t want to go…”)
  • Victory of the Daleks (WW2+Daleks=Awesome.)
  • The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon (Who’s creepier? The Silence or the Weeping Angels? Tough one..)
  • Curse of the Black Spot (I love pirate stories.)
  • The Doctor’s Wife (Sexy TARDIS.)
  • A Good Man Goes to War (River Song is…!)
  • The Doctor, The Widow, and the Wardrobe (The Doctor recreates Narnia. Love it.)
  • A Town Called Mercy (The Doctor vs. a Cyborg Assassin in The Wild West? Awesome.)
  • Journey to the Center of the TARDIS (We finally got to see more of the TARDIS. A lot more!)
  • Nightmare in Silver (Cybermen, the biggest amusement park in the universe, Warwick Davis, and alter egos! Great episode!)
  • The Name of the Doctor (The beginning of an  awesome story arc. Trenzalore! Goodbye Sweetie…)
  • The Time of the Doctor (The ending of an awesome story arc. The ending of an awesome Doctor… Farewell, Eleventh!)

Favorite Doctor

s4_00_wal_19

While I loved both the Ninth and Eleventh Doctors, The Tenth Doctor, played by David Tennant is my favorite of the three. I don’t really know how to quantify it. All three Doctors have the same sort of lively, festive, and wacky spirit that the Doctor embodies. All three are Mad Men with a Box. All three are also the protective Time Lord that we all know and love. So what makes the Tenth Doctor so different and special to me? I guess it’s in the writing of his specific regeneration’s personality and Tennant’s delivery of that writing. I’m also a little embarrassed to admit that I like his fashion sense. I wouldn’t mind having a wardrobe like the Tenth’s. Anyway, whatever it is that sets him apart from the other two Doctors, the Tenth is my favorite. Allons-y!

Favorite Companion

Amy-starship-uk

It was easy to pick my favorite Doctor, but the favorite Companion was not an easy choice at all. After some consideration, I finally settled on one Miss Amelia Pond. She wasn’t without her flaws, but she is my favorite companion in Doctor Who so far. I’ll admit that I have a bit of a celebrity crush on her. I love that Scottish accent (they’re my favorite, though I love English accents too) and her looks overall. But fancying her is not enough to make her my favorite companion. I’m not that shallow. It’s her personality that makes Amelia my favorite. Amy was this mischievous, stubborn/determined, flirty, smart girl with a dry sense of humor. She’s determined enough to get her own way and stand up to the Doctor; but also loyal enough to follow his orders when necessary and obviously patient enough to wait for him. As I mentioned before, she did have her flaws. I didn’t like when she tried to sleep with The Doctor the night before her wedding. For someone as loyal as Amy, that really seemed out of place for her character. I didn’t like that after retiring from full time companionship, she became a model and divorced Rory. There’s nothing wrong with models, at all, but it just seemed like a waste for someone as smart as her and with the experience that she had. I liked that she ended up as an author in the end. That seemed much more fitting a profession for her. And in defense of the divorce, there was a good reason given later. I still don’t think she’d give up like that, but at least it all worked out in the end. I also thought it was weird that she prayed to Santa Claus as a kid. Sure, she was just a kid, but it was like they were afraid to have her pray to God. What would be wrong with that? Anyway, that’s real life, though. You take the good and the bad. People aren’t perfect. I couldn’t help but love Amelia Pond and neither could the Eleventh Doctor. I think she was the perfect companion for his regeneration’s personality. A lot of fun and great companions have traveled with the Doctor through these seven series; and while I wasn’t sure at first, Amelia is definitely my favorite one of them all.

Favorite Comic

Star_Trek_The_Next_Generation_Doctor_Who_Assimilation2

OK, I only read one Doctor Who comic; but it was so epic that I had to share it somewhere. I didn’t really feel like reviewing it, I just wanted to share it with y’all. Captain Picard and the crew of the Enterprise D meet the Eleventh Doctor (and Rory and Amy) and the best way to describe the two volumes of comics would be nerdgasm. This is a must read for Star Trek and Doctor Who fans!!

Poll

What are your favorite episodes? Favorite companion? Leave a comment and let me know! Who is your favorite Doctor? Vote in the poll and leave comment to let me know why!

Next up I plan to take a trip through the Classic Doctor Who episodes! I’ll make a similar post afterwards, but I suspect that it will be quite a while before that post shows up!

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Doctor Who (2005) Episodes

  1. Great choices! Your episodes overlap with some of my favorites — especially “The Girl in the Fireplace,” “Blink,” and “Vincent and the Doctor.” Love those and have re-watched them plenty. =)

    But I would have to say that A Good Man Goes to War is my favorite episode. It has those epic speeches and big character reveals that I love, and I remember the first time I saw it, I was soooo invested. It was a turning point for me with Doctor Who!

    I also love any Madame Vastra episodes. And when you were debating which is scarier, the Silence or the Weeping Angels, I have to go with the Silence all the way!! They scare me so bad.

    • Thanks!

      A Good Man Goes to War is definitely an epic favorite! I loved how he called in all of his favors at the beginning of the episode. Such a different start than usual and so many new characters at once!

      I like Madame Vastra episodes too, especially when Strax tagged along. I think i’d pick the Angels, but the Silence are a close second.

  2. Great list! I can’t believe I forgot The
    Water on Mars in my top 5 post. That was awesome! The makeup effects for that one were amazing. It just shows how many good episodes Ten had during his run.

Leave a Reply

