Review: The Gunpowder Plot (PC)

DWTAG_logoi

The last episode up for review is Doctor Who: The Adventure Games, Episode 5: The Gunpowder Plot!

Story

p00q4m38

The Gunpowder Plot is the final episode of the Doctor Who Adventure Games. This episode takes place some time in Series 6. I think it’s in the second half of the series, based on some references that I heard in-game. I’m only a few episodes into Series 6, but those references were for Series 6 episodes that I hadn’t watched yet. When the TARDIS gets into a fender bender with another spaceship, the other spaceship crashlands on Earth. The Doctor, Amy, and Rory go down to investigate and find themselves in the London underground on November 5th, 1605. So, of course, they are thrust into the events of the Gunpowder Plot with Guy Fawkes and the rest of the conspirators.

The plot in this one had a lot of promise. I love the idea of The Doctor and aliens involved with the Gunpowder Plot. It’s a huge event in England’s history, which makes it a perfect target for some alien shenanigans. I don’t have too many complaints about the plot itself. It could have been done better, but if I judged by plot alone, this game would have been a decent one.

The characters in this episode are alright. The Doctor and Amy are their normal selves, and this time Rory is along for the ride. The dialogue between them all is just about how it would be in the show. For the most part, Rory is the same stupid head husband that Amy has grown so fond of. His voice sounds different, though. I thought he was voiced by a different actor, but it’s still Arthur Darvill. Maybe he’s just not very good at voice over work? He sounded kind of…lifeless. Oh, well. There were a lot of supporting characters this time including Guy Fawkes, Black Rod, and little orphan boys. There were also two sets of villains in the Rutans and the Sontarans. The villains were pretty good, but the supporting characters were pretty boring. I would think that Guy Fawkes would be a more interesting and charming character, but maybe I’m just thinking of V.

p00q4ll8

Gameplay

p00q4lvt

The Gunpowder Plot features three playable characters: The Doctor, Amy, and Rory. It’s a point and click adventure game like the previous four episodes of The Adventure Games.

The gameplay was at it’s worst in The Gunpowder Plot. Remember how I said in previous reviews that the gameplay was more tolerable because the episodes were relatively short? Well, this episode is considerably longer than the previous four. You might think that a longer game is a good thing, but it’s not. The numerous meaningless tasks and running/sneaking around with horrible controls get really old, really quickly. So, when you have a game as long as this episode was, it makes it almost unplayable. I couldn’t wait for it to end. Luckily enough for me, there was some sort of glitch that closed the game about 3/4 of the way through the game. I took it as fate and just watched the ending on YouTube. It was that bad.

As a side note, there are no collectibles in this episode.

p00q4lqw

Bottom Line

p00q4lyl

The Gunpowder Plot is a great idea for a Doctor Who story, but the atrocious gameplay was finally too much for me. It just ruined everything and that’s too bad. I assume since they’ve already done this episode, this story will never be told on the TV Show. I know that this is a free game and probably aimed more towards children, but that’s not an excuse for a game this bad. I can definitely see why this game series was cancelled after this episode. I hope someday a game is made that lives up to the Doctor Who name. I’m going to play The Eternity Clock (and possibly review it) on the PS3 whenever I finish watching Series 6, so hopefully that one will at least partially live up to the name. As far as The Adventure Games go, I can really only recommend that Doctor Who fans play the first (City of the Daleks) and the third (TARDIS) episodes of the series. I can say with near certainty that you definitely won’t want to play this episode.

Forget forget the fifth of The Adventure Games

The Gunpowder Plot.

I see no reason why this episode

Should ever be played.

Rhodes Rating: 59/100

All of my Doctor Who: The Adventure Games Reviews: http://stephenwrhodes.com/tag/the-adventure-games/

Leave a Reply

