Review: Rat Queens #3

RQ 3 - Cover

““GOLD, GUTS AND GROG,” Part Three. One tablespoon of cayenne peppers, 2 ounces of 100 proof vodka, and 3 ounces of tomato juice makes one fantastic Bloody Murder. So does double-crossing the Rat Queens and foolishly thinking you can get away with it. Drink up!”

Story

RQ 3 - Screen 1

Last time on Rat Queens, the Rat Queens had JUST defeated an assassin when a troll attacked them. Hannah tried to attack first and the troll broke her arm. Betty, Dee, and Violet combined their forces to defeat the troll. With an injured Hannah in tow, the gang headed back to Palisade to find out who wants them dead. On the return trip, they happened upon Tizzie, the leader of the Peaches Gang. The Peaches Gang was attacked as well and only Tizzie and Braga survived. Once back in Palisade, the Queens immediately hit the pub. While at the pub, the Queens discover that only other gang to survive the assassins was the Four Daves. After sobering up, Hannah used an illusion spell to sneak into the Mayor’s Mansion.

This time on Rat Queens, Hannah and Sawyer share a tender moment in prison. Betty experiences heartbreak.Violet gets a visit from someone from her past. The Queens get some answers in regards to who wants to kill them and the other mercs.

Betty steals the show again. That little smidgen has been the life of the series every single issue so far in Rat Queens’ short history. Sometimes you’re laughing with her and sometimes you’re laughing at her, but either way she’s such a fun character to read about. While she definitely has some pretty terrific comedic moments in this issue (“Betty ain’t no fool”), we also see some more somber moments from her. She’s a self-professed hippie hobbit, but what is a hippie without love? It’s sad to behold, but the poor hobbit/smidgen girl’s crazy adventures may just be keeping her apart from her lover. I guess the same thing could be said about Hannah. Her and Sawyer are obviously in love, but he can’t keep up with her shenanigans and tomfoolery. She gets wasted on grog and causes mayhem and he’s the head of the The Guard. I can definitely sympathize with him. Hannah is definitely likable, but she needs to grow up. Her immaturity and continuing need to rebel is definitely a turn off. For the sake of herself, Sawyer, and the Queens, she needs to change soon. I’m not sure that either Betty or Hannah will be changing anytime soon, though.

Violet is visited by a Dwarf from her past in this issue. It becomes pretty clear that she isn’t a fan of Dwarven tradition and her heritage, though why she feels that way isn’t quite as clear. Betty might be the star of the show and the most entertaining, but I think I probably still like Violet the most. I look forward to finding out more about her, because she’s definitely trying to prove something with her adventures. I think that’s part of why I like her so much. I don’t think the adventures are just about grog and gold to her. I think there’s something deeper there. I just don’t know what it is. I do think that at some point Violet will take Hannah’s place as leader of the group, if at least temporarily. Just a prediction.

Dee Dee is still a mystery. I still have no idea what to think of her. She doesn’t reveal much about herself at all. I’m not sure if that’s on purpose or not.

RQ 3 - Screen 2

Bottom Line

RQ 3 - Screen 3

I’m still loving Rat Queens three issues in. These girls are fun, hilarious, and kick ass. I’m hooked. I like where the story has gone so far, but I still don’t know what the big picture is going to be. It’s got to be bigger than just people trying to kill them in Palisade. I think this is just the introduction and we’ll find out where things are headed soon. I look forward to it! I didn’t have best new comic series award in my 2013 Rhodes Awards, but if I did, Rat Queens would have been the winner!

Rhodes Rating: 94/100

Buy your copy here: Rat Queens #3

Rat Queens #4 releases on January 15th!

All of my Rat Queens Reviews: http://stephenwrhodes.com/tag/rat-queens/

Leave a Reply

