News: Videos, Gaming Polls, Etc.

I let a bunch of videos and random news items accumulate again, so it’s time to share another big, long post!

Dragon Age III: Inquisition

Dragon Age III Logo

Bioware had previously mentioned that they had been working on a way to enable Inquisition players to access their save games from the first two games. That way has been announced in Dragon Age Keep.

From the Dragon Age Keep‘s FAQs:

“Within the Dragon Age Keep, you’ll be able to customize a Dragon Age historical world state to your exact specifications drawn from Dragon Age: Origins and Dragon Age II story decisions. These include hero attributes, companion details, quest results, and more. Customize as much or as little as you wish. Then you’ll be able to import your saved world state into Dragon Age Inquisition at the start of a new game. For new players, the Keep will serve as a great way to understand the people, places, and events that shaped the world leading up to DAI.”

I’m very glad to hear that they’ve figured out a way to make this work out, even if it isn’t exactly carrying the save games over.

They’re looking for beta testers to help out next year. If you’re interested, apply here: https://dragonagekeep.com/

Destiny

Destiny Box Art

Bungie has released a new ViDoc for their upcoming game, Destiny, entitled, “Out Here in the Wild”.

This game looks awesome, but I hope it’s more than just a big multiplayer sandbox. I’ve heard nothing about the story and I’m a big single player fan. For me, I like to see the two modes blend together well or complement each other. I thought the way Mass Effect 3 handled it was perfect. By playing the multiplayer, I achieved something in the single player mode. At first I wasn’t happy about it, but then I gave it a shot, and had a blast. Obviously, Destiny is a different type of game. I know that. I guess a better example would be Star Wars: The Old Republic. I recently started playing that game, since my new computer is good enough to run it, and I think they did a great job. I can focus on doing the story mode by myself, but I can also team up with players, if I want to, for bigger missions. That’s the type of thing that I’d like to see in Destiny.

Dragon’s Crown

Dragon's Crown PS3

An update has been released by Atlus for Dragon’s Crown.

Here are the details of the patch from their press release:

“Dragon’s Crown received some minor tweaks and fixes to both the PS3 and PS Vita versions this week to improve gameplay and stabilize network connectivity. We’re sorry if this caused you any inconvenience to your bashing, hacking, torching, slamming, and stabbing during dungeon crawls!
Patch Notes
 

[Bug Fixes]

  • Stabilized network connectivity during online gameplay.

[New Features]

  • Hidden items can now be uncovered by simply moving the finger cursor over their location.
  • The item hotkeys can now also be accessed by holding the L1 Button (PS3)/L Button (PSVita).
  • Dagger and Bomb items can now be thrown diagonally by pressing Up on the Left Stick + Triangle button.
  • An option to fix all items at once in your bags has been added to Morgan’s item shop.
  • In the Options Menu, you can now select the area you wish to be matched in for online play.

[Feature modifications]

  • Arrow drops will increase according to how many Elf characters are in the party.
  • The visibility of inventory Runes while the player is near the bottom of the screen has been improved.
  • Other tuning and minor improvements to various gameplay elements were made.”

I hadn’t really noticed any of those issues, but I had heard about the network problems. They’re all fixed now, though!

Beyond: Two Souls

Beyond Two Souls box

I’ve got two new Beyond: Two Souls videos to share with y’all.

The first is the “Making of the Soundtrack”:

The second video is the gamescom trailer aka the “Beautiful Drama” trailer:

I think beautiful drama just about sums it up! I can’t wait to play this game and we’re only about a month away from release! As an aside, I finally bought Heavy Rain (also from Quantic Dream), and plan to play it for the first time before I play Beyond.

The Last of Us

_bmUploads_2012-12-10_540_The_Last_Of_Us_3D_SPA

Naughty Dog released a new, somewhat significant update for The Last of Us.

“Patch 1.03 for The Last of Us introduces gameplay tweaks to the multiplayer, bug fixes, and features the free game mode: Interrogation.”

Check out the patch trailer here:

The best thing about this patch, in my opinion, is the introduction of ranked matchmaking. I didn’t really like the multiplayer because it was so hard and I was forced to go up against veteran players. It just wasn’t fun. With this fixed, I may give the multiplayer mode another shot!

Grand Theft Auto V

Grand Theft Auto V Box Art

Grand Theft Auto V went gold recently and Rockstar subsequently released the official trailer:

I don’t know if there was anything new in that trailer, but I’m still excited to check this game out in the next couple of weeks! I’ll definitely have a review up at some point this month. The timing depends on whether or not I get a review copy or if I’ll have to rent it. As another aside, I’m re-playing Grand Theft Auto IV for the first time in a long time. It’s a fun game, but not my favorite Rockstar game (That would be Red Dead Redemption)). I have high hopes for V, though!

Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

Assassin's Creed IV PS3

Ubisoft released a new behind the scenes video for Assassin’s Creed IV. This one focused on introducing some of the main voice actors of the game.

“Meet the actors behind Assassin’s Creed 4. Matt Ryan (Edward Kenway), Mark Bonnar (Blackbeard) & Ralph Ineson (Charles Vane) share their thoughts on the key characters & story line.”

Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Blackgate

WB Games has finally released a trailer for their upcoming game, Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate.

It looks interesting. I’m not entirely enthused on Arkham Origins, and I’m even less so on Blackgate. I guess a better way to put it, is that my expectations aren’t set very high. Without Rocksteady Studios at the helm, I’m just not sure if the same quality is going to be there. I’m also not sure how the controls are going to translate over to the PS Vita. Despite my reservations, I definitely plan to check both games out! You already know that I’m a huge Batman fan, so hopefully they surprise me and make two badass games!

Cosmic Star Heroine

Cosmic Star Heroine

There were a bunch of new indie games announced for the PS4 and PS Vita at PAX this weekend. One that stood out to me was Cosmic Star Heroine. When I see RPG and sci-fi next to each other, I’ll usually want to know more. That’s what this game is, a retro sci-fi RPG game, and my interest is piqued.

Here’s the official description:

“Having just made its PAX debut, this retro, sci-fi RPG is coming to PS4 and PS Vita. Save the entire galaxy (all of it) with Agent Alyssa L’Salle, along with her bizarre band of adventurers. Cosmic Star Heroine is inspired by the great ’90s RPGs we all know and love, including Chrono Trigger, Phantasy Star, and Suikoden. Prepare for ample amounts of pixel art, retro music, and a fair share of space adventures.”

Here’s the trailer:

For more about the game, check out this post on the PS Blog: http://blog.us.playstation.com/2013/08/30/retro-sci-fi-rpg-cosmic-star-heroine-revealed-at-pax/

Worf TV Show

tumblr_inline_mfebd6H3je1rq2qp3

Michael Dorn will not be a merry man if his planned Star Trek series doesn’t get made!

Yes, that’s right. Dorn aka Worf, wants to make a new Trek series starring himself! This isn’t exactly breaking news, though. This story broke last year, but there has been an update: the script is done and he is shopping it.

I want this series made. It’s about time that Star Trek was back on TV and I don’t want it to be in J.J. Abrams’ alternate universe. I know some Trek fans don’t, but I do LOVE those movies. I’d just prefer to go back to the original universe, for any future, potential TV series. I also love the premise of bringing Worf back. He’s definitely one of my favorite characters and it would be nice to see him finally get his due as his own Starship Captain.

For the full story, check out The Mary Sue.

Firefly

whereserenity

While I wasn’t very enthused regarding the announcement of a mobile Firefly game a while back, I do have some Firefly news that I am excited about today.

“Joss Whedon’s beloved Firefly series and Serenity film’s lifespan may have been short-lived, but managed to produce one of the most dedicated fanbases in the history of modern science fiction. Dark Horse is proud to be able to keep Mal and his crew flying with new comics and products. Look for the hashtag #WheresSerenity over the next few months on our TwitterFacebook and Instagram pages for exclusive news on the future of the franchise at Dark Horse!”

It’s not the best Firefly news that I could think of (sequel, 2nd season on Netflix, a real game, etc.), it’s definitely some good news. I’m sure that I’ll be reading and reviewing these comics when they release!

Also, here’s a cool gif:

serenlw_animated

The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead Comic Logo

The 10th anniversary of The Walking Dead is coming up next month, and Image Comics has plenty of things in store to celebrate. Today, I’m going to pass along a couple of press releases regarding some of those things that they have in store.

Special Covers:

“This October is the 10th anniversary of THE WALKING DEAD, and we’re excited to announce that issue #115 will have 10 connecting covers in celebration. The covers, when viewed together, form an image that highlights significant moments from the past 10 years of the series. Each of the 10 individual covers will also depict a special moment from a year of THE WALKING DEAD’s illustrious history. These covers are drawn by series artist Charlie Adlard, with colors by Dave Stewart.

Each weekday for the next 2 weeks, we’ll reveal a part of the connecting covers for issue #115. The first cover shown, now available at the Image Comics website, reveals a memorable moment that takes place during THE WALKING DEAD’s third year.

THE WALKING DEAD #115 goes on sale on October 9, 2013 and is available for pre-order with local comic book retailers now!”

Midnight Release Parties:

“All Out War breaks out on October 9, 2013 with the release of THE WALKING DEAD #115, part of the celebration of 10 years of Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard’s epic comic book series. Image Comics will be kicking off the celebration the night before, alongside retailers across the United States & Canada, with THE WALKING DEAD MIDNIGHT RELEASE PARTIES!
For this special event, THE WALKING DEAD will be available for purchase in advance, atmidnight on the night before release, October 9, 2013. THE WALKING DEAD #115 is the first issue of the monster event ALL OUT WAR, which will pit Rick Grimes and his group of Survivors in a fight for their lives against the other factions in THE WALKING DEAD universe: The Saviors, The Hilltop, and The Kingdom.
Comic book retailers will be able to sign up to host a midnight release party for THE WALKING DEAD #115 and in the process get exclusive giveaways and promotional items for the party, as well as the opportunity to order a special variant cover of THE WALKING DEAD #115, with brand new art from Charlie Adlard, available only to participating retailers.
Fans who would like to attend a WALKING DEAD MIDNIGHT RELEASE PARTY should inquire with their local comic book retailers and ask them to participate. Comic book retailers in the US and Canada interested in hosting a midnight release party should opt-in with Diamond Code JUL138242 by September 6th, 2013. For more information, retailers should contact their Diamond customer service representative, or contact Image Comics directly.
THE WALKING DEAD #115 is available for pre-order now, in advance of its release on October 9th, 2013, and features 10 individual connecting covers.”
I don’t have any real comic book shops where I live, which is suprising, because of how big the city is. So, this news doesn’t really effect me. However, did you notice that they said Rick’s group is up against all of the other factions? Um, what the heck? Spoiler alert? I thought they were all going up against The Saviors? I hope that’s just a typo, but in any case, there it is.

Polls

I recently pre-ordered my PS4 and it got me wondering what people were currently thinking about the next-gen consoles and pre-orders. I have heard reports, but I wanted to do my own polling!

Leave a Reply

