Review: The Walking Dead, Issue #111

The-Walking-Dead-111-Cover

Welcome to my first review of The Walking Dead! First, a little background. I’ve been a fan of the TV show since Day 1, I’ve played both of the video games on the PS3, and I’ve read all of the Comics. However, I didn’t start reading the comics until this past December. I got the first Compendium for Christmas and I was hooked! I got the second Compendium for my birthday the next month. I then caught up with the rest of the issues by buying digital issues on Comixology. I have to admit that it’s been a little hard to adjust to only one issue a month after bingeing on the Compendiums!

Anyway, I recently added in comic book reviews to my website coverage, with The Walking Dead in mind as my anchor. Most of the comics I review on here will be mini-series, like The Last of Us: American Dreams, but The Walking Dead is going to be my constant.

So, now that I’ve got that out of the way, it’s time for my review of The Walking Dead, Issue #111!

Story

TWD 111 - Screenshot 3

In The Walking Dead #111, the “Alliance” (The Kingdom, The Hilltop, and The Alexandria Safe-Zone) continues to prepare for war against Negan and his Saviors. The issue is split it up into two halves.

In the first half of the issue, the perspective bounces around between characters a lot. Rick is coordinating things, Andrea and Michonne are training soldiers, and Jesus is bringing in his men from The Hilltop. The “Alliance” Leaders meet together to discuss their current war strategy.

In the second half of the issue, Negan shows up at the Alexandria Safe-Zone, looking for Rick. Collection time came early this time around.

The first half of the issue was a bit slow and contained a lot of setup for the coming issues, but the second half of the issue made up for it. The first half feels like the calm before the storm. Things aren’t peachy or perfect, but they’re calm. It’s nice to see the gang get a breather while they’re staying at The Kingdom. I have a feeling that they’re going to need it. Meanwhile, at The Hilltop, there is a clear leader, and his name is Jesus. Before leaving for The Kingdom, Jesus and Gregory get into a fight. I feel like there’s something brewing there. Nobody likes Gregory. He’s a terrible leader and I think he knows it. If he feels like his leadership is threatened, I think he may do something drastic. Maybe I’m reading too much into that, but that’s just the feeling I got. Finally, the second half of the comic, is just crazy. I can’t say much without spoiling anything. You think I’d be used to it by now, but Negan is one sick and crazy dude.

TWD 111 - Screenshot 1

Bottom Line

TWD 111 - Screenshot 2

As I mentioned before, Issue #111 took a while to get going, but once it did, it got much better. Even the slow half was good, though. Not exciting, but good. As I also mentioned before, the first half of the episode just felt like it was showing the calm before the storm. Mostly a setup issue. You have to have those. This was a good, solid issue. I liked it! Also, I have a feeling that the next episode is going to be insane. Here’s the tagline: “Carl and Andrea are faced with the unthinkable.” Um, that doesn’t sound good. I can’t wait for #112!

Rhodes Rating: 86/100

Buy your digital copy here: The Walking Dead #111

Leave a Reply

