Review: Star Trek Into Darkness (Spoiler-Free)

Star Trek Into Darkness

I want to say that I’m speechless after seeing Star Trek: Into Darkness, but I’m not. I’ve got lots to say about the movie and it’s all good.

I’ve never written a movie review before, so I don’t really know how to start or what the elements are. I’m not going to focus on that. I’m just going to write and see where it takes me. I’m sorry if it comes off as rambles or unorganized.

gallery_17

Simply put, that was one of the best movies I have ever seen. It’s easily in my Top 5 list with The Dark Knight. It’s one of those movies that you come out of theatre with your jaw on the ground.

Star Trek: Into Darkness is the rare sequel that improves on it’s predecessor. Star Trek was a GREAT movie. It’s one of my favorite movies. I would say Top…25? I don’t have an actual list. That’s just an estimate. Anyway, it’s good. That’s my point. It’s the best Star Trek, the series, has ever been, in my opinion. That’s saying a lot, because I love Star Trek. I’ve grown up watching it, like my Father before me. I’ve seen every movie. I’ve seen every episode of Enterprise, Star Trek, and Star Trek: The Next Generation. I’ve seen a lot of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and Star Trek: Voyager, but it’s been a while. I’m planning to watch all of their episodes soon and I’m actually watching DS9 on Netflix right now (not this very moment, of course). I collected Star Trek action figures when I was kid. I’ve played Star Trek computer games since I was a kid. I never attended a convention, but I did go to Star Trek: The Experience in Las Vegas, before they shut down. It was pretty cool to visit Quark’s. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I love Star Trek, so it’s high praise coming from me to say that this is the best Star Trek has ever been. I’m also trying to point out that they’ve got a rich history full of amazing shows and movies, so it’s nothing against them. It’s just THAT good.

gallery_04

Back to the sequel thing. Star Trek and Star Trek: Into Darkness are exactly like Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. They both have an awesome first movie that introduces the cast, the setting, etc. They both have a sequel that surpasses the predecessor. The feeling I got tonight during the movie and walking out of that theatre is the exact same feeling that I got when I saw The Dark Knight. It’s just pure Cinematic Brilliance. So, following that logic, is J.J. Abrams setting us up for a trilogy? I hope we get more than that, but I prefer quality over quantity. I trust him to do what’s best.

gallery_12

The story is at the heart of every good movie/book/game, and Star Trek: Into Darkness‘ story was top notch. The writers did an amazing job at taking these characters that were introduced last time around and develop them. Kirk and Spock still have a lot to learn from each other! The antagonist is well written. I’m not really sure what to say about him, without giving anything away. The plot will keep you guessing, even if you’re a Star Trek, like me. Perhaps my biggest compliment for the writers is their talent to blend the old with the new, just like they did last time. It’s new, but it’s old. It’s a reboot, but it’s still a sequel. J.J. Abrams is the man, but give some serious props to Damon Lindelof and the writers! Bravo!

gallery_07

What’s writing without people to act out those pages? The acting was phenomenal, just like in the last Star Trek movie. There are some new additions, but the core cast is still there, obviously. I don’t really have much else to say about the acting, except that your eyes may get a wee bit watery a couple times. Be prepared.

gallery_14

The audio and visuals were fantastic. Michael Giacchino’s score is just as perfect as last time around. As far as the visuals go, I highly recommend seeing Star Trek: Into Darkness in 3D. If you can, see it in 3D XD or 3D IMAX, but at least 3D. I saw it in 3D XD and I was blown away. That’s how Star Trek should be seen!

You don’t need to be a Star Trek fan like me to enjoy Star Trek: Into Darkness, but I would recommend seeing the predecessor first. If you are a Star Trek fan like me, you’re going to get even more out of it than the average moviegoer. There are Easter Eggs, GALORE. Some are bigger eggs, than others. *Cough*Tribbles*Cough*

gallery_09

I think I just about covered everything. I’ll say it one more time: Star Trek: Into Darkness is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. I was tempted to see it again at midnight tonight, but I’m not that obsessive. I will be seeing it at least one more time, though!

Thank you, J.J. Abrams, for making this masterpiece!

Bottom line: go see Star Trek: Into Darkness and you won’t see a better movie all year! See it in theatres on May 17th!

Rhodes Rating: 100/100

gallery_19

Picture Source: Star Trek Movie

Leave a Reply

